Skip to content
Provided by ASME Logo The American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Student Travel Awards

Student Advisory Committee Travel Award

Student Advisory Committee Travel Award (SACTA)

The SAC is pleased to announce that 20 Student Advisory Committee Travel Awards (SACTA), worth up to $2,000 each, have been made available to cover or partially cover student travel expenses to Turbo Expo 2020, with priority given to students who both participate in the conference and actively contribute to the growth of the SAC. Applicants for these awards must be seeking a degree and must be or plan to be members of the Student Advisory Committee (SAC). The applicant must agree to participate in the SAC Annual Meeting at Turbo Expo 2020 and willing to help SAC leadership team to review and set-up student posters. Communication with the SAC leadership team may be requested prior to, during, and following Turbo Expo 2020. Students interested in this award must submit the application by December 16, 2019. All applicants will be notified of the decision on their application by January 15, 2020. 

SACTA Application Submission Deadline
December 16, 2019

ASME IGTI Young Engineer Turbo Expo Participation Award

The ASME IGTI Young Engineer Turbo Expo Participation Award (YETEP) is intended for young engineers working in industry, in government or in academia, engineering undergraduate or graduate students in the gas turbine or related fields to obtain travel funding to attend ASME Turbo Expo to present a paper or poster which they have authored or co-authored. The purpose is to provide a way for more to participate in the annual Turbo Expo Conference.

ASME TE19 D3 24 YETEP Winners

For 2020, ASME will provide YETEP Award winners with:

  • One Complimentary ASME Turbo Expo Technical Conference Registration
  • Complimentary hotel accommodations (Sunday to Friday)
  • Up to $1,000 USD reimbursement toward approved travel expenses

The nominee must have obtained an academic degree (Bachelor, Master, PhD, or equivalent degrees) in an engineering discipline related to turbomachinery within five years from the year of the Turbo Expo that the applicant wishes to attend. The paper or poster being presented can be research results from work completed either while pursuing an academic degree, or after leaving school and entering the job field.

Nomination deadline for ASME Turbo Expo 2020 - February 1, 2020.

Download the Young Engineer Turbo Expo Participation Award Application.