Skip to content
Provided by ASME Logo The American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Women in Engineering Panel

Wednesday, June 16, 2021
10:15 am to 12:00 pm

Panel Moderator: Nesrin Ozalp, Professor and Chair of Mechanical and Civil Engineering Department, Purdue University Northwest, Editor-in-Chief of Thermopedia by Begell House


Dr. Margot Gerritsen

Dr. Margot Gerritsen, Professor of Energy Resources Engineering, Stanford University
Dr. Gerritsen received her MS degree at University of Delft, and her Ph.D. from Stanford University. She has been a faculty member at Stanford since 2001. From 2010 to 2018, she directed the Stanford Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering. Since 2015, she is the Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs in the School of Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences, as well as the co-director of Women in Data Science (WiDS) and the host of the WiDS podcasts. Dr. Gerritsen’s research area of interest is on computer simulation and mathematical analysis of engineering and natural processes.



Dr. Ying Sun

Dr. Ying Sun, Program Director of the Thermal Transport Processes program at NSF, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics at Drexel University
Dr. Sun received her bachelor's degree at Tsinghua University in Beijing. She completed her Master’s and PhD at the University of Iowa. She joined Drexel's College of Engineering faculty in 2009. She has authored over 65 refereed publications, supervised six PhD dissertations, 12 Master’s theses, over 25 undergraduate researchers, and eight post-docs. Her research interests include multiphase flows and heat/mass transport, multiscale modeling of transport phenomena, wetting and interfacial phenomena, and scalable nanomanufacturing. Dr. Sun's lab is funded by the NSF, DOE, ARPA-E, AFOSR, EPRI, ACS PRF, Ben Franklin Technology Partners, and industry. She is a Fellow of the ASME.



Erin Slayton

Erin Slayton PE, DBIA, ENV. SP, Principal Project Manager/Vice President, HDR
Ms. Slayton received her BSc from Stanford University and her MS from University of Washington. With nearly 20 years of experience in the planning, design and delivery of major transportation infrastructure programs, Erin Slayton leads delivery of program management in all transportation markets. She served as an HDR department manager for the $4.56 billion Washington State DOT SR 520 Floating Bridge Replacement and HOV Program from 2012 to 2014. Erin helped develop and manage the procurement and delivery of the $1.7 billion Arizona DOT South Mountain Freeway Project, before moving to Columbia, South Carolina, in 2018 to focus on the management of the South Carolina DOT's $1.6 billion Carolina Crossroads Project.



Dr. Evelyn Wang

Dr. Evelyn Wang, Gail E. Kendall Professor and Department Head, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dr. Wang received her bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from MIT in 2000, and MS and PhD degrees from Stanford University in 2001 and 2006, respectively. An internationally recognized leader in phase change heat transfer on nanostructure surfaces, Wang's research focuses on high-efficiency energy and water systems. Her work on solar cells that convert heat into focused beams of light was named as one of MIT Technology Review's 10 breakthrough technologies of 2017. Her work on the development of a device that can extract fresh water from the air in arid environments was selected by Scientific American and the World Economic Forum as one of 2017’s 10 promising emerging technologies.



Dr. Sophia Haussener

Dr. Sophia Haussener, Associate Professor, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)
Dr. Haussener received her MSc and PhD (2010) in Mechanical Engineering from ETH Zurich. Her current research is focused on providing design guidelines for thermal, thermochemical, and photo-electrochemical energy conversion reactors through multi-physics modeling. She has published over 70 articles in peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings. She has been awarded the ETH medal (2011), the Dimitris N. Chorafas Foundation award (2011), the ABB Forschungspreis (2012), the Prix Zonta (2015), the Global Change Award (2017), and the Raymond Viskanta Award (2019), and is a recipient of a Starting Grant of the Swiss National Science Foundation (2014). She is a deputy leader in the Swiss Competence Center for Energy Research (SCCER) on energy storage and acts as a Member of the Scientific Advisory Council of the Helmholtz Zentrum.