Skip to content
Provided by ASME Logo The American Society of Mechanical Engineers

The Koski Lecture is available to all FPMC 2021 virtual conference attendees. REGISTER today to attend the lecture plus the other highly informative conference sessions which have been organized by your peers!

Abstract: The key technology in tunnel boring machines in China has experienced significant progress in recent years, some of which are leading the world. Intelligent tunnel boring machine, based on automation, unmanned, and intelligence, is the future trend of tunning boring technology. It can realize the safety, adaption, and coordination of the tunnel boring process. The presentation focuses on four aspects, including intelligent design, intelligent perception, intelligent manipulation, and intelligent maintenance. A recent development and outlook on the key technology of the intelligent tunnel boring machine is also discussed.

Prof. Huayong Yang

Prof. Huayong Yang received his B.Sc. from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China in 1982 and Ph.D. degree from University of Bath in 1988. He has been with Zhejiang University since 1989, and was made a full professor in 1996. He is currently the head of School of Mechanical Engineering Zhejiang University. He is a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. He was awarded Joseph Bramah Medal in 2017 and is a member in the board of directors in Global Fluid Power Society (GFPS) since 2018. Prof. Huayong Yang holds more than 200 invention patents and published authored over 500 peer reviewed journal papers. His research interests are in motion control and energy saving of mechatronic systems, development of fluid power component and system, integration of electro-hydraulic system and engineering applications, 3D bioprinting machine and biofabrication applications. Prof. Huayong Yang has been named the recipient of the 2021 Robert E. Koski Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).


Information on the ASME Robert E. Koski Medal
The Robert E. Koski Medal, established in 2007, recognizes individuals who have advanced the art and practice of fluid power motion and control through education and/or innovation. The honoree does not have to be a member of ASME.

The Medal was established by the Fluid Power Systems and Technology Division to honor Robert E. Koski's contributions to the field of Design Engineering and Dynamic and Systems and Control.