Skip to content
SSDM 2023 > Program > Awards


Several prestigious internationally recognized awards are given at the Annual ASME Aerospace Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials (SSDM) Conference. These awards are very well recognized amongst the Aerospace SDM community. The winners will be honored throughout the conference including an invitation to the Award Luncheon. The Spirit of St. Louis Medalist will deliver a lecture at the Award Luncheon. We encourage you to review the honor details below.


The Spirit of St. Louis Medal

The Spirit of St. Louis Medal is awarded for meritorious service in the advancement of aeronautics and astronautics. The medal was established in 1929 by Philip D. Ball, ASME Members, and Citizens of St. Louis, Missouri.

Wayne Johnson

Recipient: Dr. Wayne Johnson

The 2023 Spirit of St. Louis Medal will be awarded to Dr. Wayne Johnson for his landmark advancements and contributions to vertical flight aeronautics, helicopter theory, and rotorcraft aeromechanics, and for developing computational codes that enabled the design of the first tiltrotor aircraft, eVTOL aircraft, and the Mars Helicopter Ingenuity.

More Information


ASME/Boeing Structures and Materials Award

Outstanding paper presented on the basis of originality and significance to the field.

The 2023 ASME/Boeing Structures and Materials Award will be presented to AIAA Paper 2022-1007 entitled “Experimental Observations of Damage States in Unnotched and Notched 3D Orthogonal Woven Coupons Loaded in Tension", authored by Wade C. Jackson, Andrew C. Bergan, Nathaniel W. Gardner, and Cheryl A. Rose from NASA Langley, Kenneth N. Segal from NASA Goddard, and Nalinda W. Waas from Wichita State University.

More Information


Dedicated Service Award

In 1983, the ASME Board of Governors approved the establishment of the ASME Dedicated Service Award (DSA). It honors unusual dedicated voluntary service to the Society marked by outstanding performance, demonstrated effective leadership, prolonged and committed service, devotion, enthusiasm and faithfulness.

Olesya Zhupanska

Recipient: Dr. Olesya Zhupanska

The 2023 ASME Dedicated Service Award will be presented to Dr. Olesya Zhupanska for her exceptional leadership and long-standing service to ASME for more than 15 years. She has made profound contributions to the ASME Congress Steering Committee, ASME Aerospace Division, and Aerospace Division Structures and Materials Committee.

More Information