Skip to content
HyRRAC > Program > Plenary Speakers

Plenary Speakers

Ali Mosleh

Ali Mosleh
Distinguished Professor and Evalyn Knight Chair in Engineering
University of California, Los Angeles

Biography: Dr. Ali Mosleh is a Distinguished University Professor and holder of the Evalyn Knight Chair in Engineering. He is also the Director of UCLA's B. John Garrick Institute for the Risk Sciences. Previously he was the Nicole J. Kim Eminent Professor of Engineering and Director of the Center for Risk and Reliability at the University of Maryland. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2010 and is a Fellow of the Society for Risk Analysis, and the American Nuclear Society, recipient of several scientific achievement awards, including the American Nuclear Society Tommy Thompson Award. He has been technical advisor to numerous national and international organizations, including appointment by Presidents Bush and Obama to the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board. He conducts research on methods for probabilistic risk analysis and reliability of complex systems, holds several patents, and has authored or co-authored over 500 publications including books, guidebooks, and technical papers.



Laura Hill

Laura Hill
U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office (HFTO)

Biography: Dr. Laura Hill manages the Safety, Codes and Standards (SCS) Subprogram at the Department of Energy's Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office (HFTO), where she has worked since joining the DOE in 2014. The SCS subprogram encompasses such activities as the Hydrogen Safety Panel, quantitative risk assessment, fuel quality and hydrogen behavior R&D. Under her leadership, the SCS subprogram and the National Laboratories play a leading role in providing the scientific basis for the safe deployment of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies. In her capacity as SCS Manager, Dr. Hill also co-chairs the IPHE Regulations, Codes, Standards and Safety Working Group.