Skip to content
Provided by ASME Logo The American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Student Program

ASME's Power Virtual Conference Student Paper Competition

POWER2020 offers students an opportunity to present a technical paper on issues affecting the electric power generation industry today.

  • You will present your paper and gain valuable insight and feedback to improve your research
  • You will be published in ASME proceedings
  • You will have the opportunity to network with fellow colleagues and power industry professionals
  • You will receive complimentary conference registration with access to the virtual event, access to the conference proceedings, and access to the virtual content until December 31, 2020.

Winners receive a cash award of up to $3,000 USD!

  • 1st place: $3,000 USD, plus an award plaque
  • 2nd place: $2,000 USD, plus a certificate of recognition
  • 3rd place: $1,000 USD, plus a certificate of recognition

Details on how to participate in the Virtual Event

  • Log into the submission portal
  • Sign the Speaker Release Form by July 1st and work on your submission
    • See instructions here.
  • Record a 3-5 minutes presentation that delivers the key points and message of your submission
  • Upload and submit your video presentation in the submission portal by July 10th
  • Create a one slide summary of your findings to present during the Live Q&A
  • Register for the Virtual Event through your Track Chair
  • Attend our Workshops, Keynotes, Panels, Plenaries, and Technical Sessions
  • Network and collaborate with power industry professionals
  • Attend the Awards Ceremony to find out if you’re one of the winners!

Additional Student Activities

  • Panel Session – Invited speakers will present and discuss industry topics. This session is exclusively for students!
  • Awards Banquet – Student winners will be announced at the banquet Wednesday, August 5.

For more information on the Student Paper Competition or other activities, please contact: André Teixeira, Steve Greco or Camille Cruz Alfonzo.