Skip to content


Several prestigious internationally recognized awards are given at the Annual ASME Aerospace Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials (SSDM) Conference. These awards are very well recognized amongst the Aerospace SDM community. The winners will be honored throughout the conference including an invitation to the Award Luncheon. We encourage you to review the honor details below.


The Spirit of St. Louis Medal

The Spirit of St. Louis Medal is awarded for meritorious service in the advancement of aeronautics and astronautics. The medal was established in 1929 by Philip D. Ball, ASME Members, and Citizens of St. Louis, Missouri.

William A. Sirignano

Recipient: William A. Sirignano

The 2024 Spirit of St. Louis Medal will be awarded to Dr. William A. Sirignano. Dr. Sirignano was a Professor at Princeton University from 1967 to 1979 after receiving his Ph.D. from there in 1964. He was the George Tallman Ladd Professor and Department Head at Carnegie-Mellon University from 1979 to 1984 before becoming the Engineering Dean at UCI. He left the deanship and currently he is a Distinguished Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at UCI.

More Information



ASME/Boeing Structures and Materials Award

The ASME Aerospace Division Structures and Materials Technical Committee has reviewed the papers published at the 2023 ASME Aerospace Structures, Structural Dynamics, Materials Conference. On the basis of originality and significance to the field, the paper titled "Machine Learning-Aided Cohesive Zone Modeling of Fatigue Delamination" (SSDM2023-107351) has been identified as the winner of the Boeing Structures and Materials Award.

Congratulations to the Authors:
Liang Zhang, AnalySwift
Xin Liu, The University of Texas at Arlington
Su Tian, AnalySwift
Zhenyuan Gao, Dassault Systèmes
Wenbin Yu, Purdue University

More Information



John J. Montgomery Award for Distinguished Innovation in Aerospace

The Montgomery Innovation Award will recognize the outstanding contribution of an individual engineer residing in the international community who has researched, designed or developed (or any combination thereof) new technologies or equipment for the aerospace industry, i.e., propulsion, aerospace structure/materials, stability and control, etc.

Ajit K. Roy

Congratulations to the 2024 Recipient:

Ajit K. Roy, Principal Materials Research Engineer, US Air Force Research Lab

More Information





2023 ASME Fellows

Congratulations to the 2023 ASME Fellows affiliated with the AERO Division!

To learn more about becoming or nominating a Fellow, click here

Xianxu 'Frank' Bai

Noel Bakhtian

Andrew Bicos

Ercan Dede

John Jian Dong

Nandika Dsouza

Andrew Duncan

Stephen Engelstad

Paul Giel

DR Ryan L Harne

Naira Hovakimyan

Kauser Imtiaz

Jaehyung Ju

Jianbo Lu

James Man

Columbia Mishra

Grace O'Connell

Patrick Phelan

Julian Rimoli

Lorin Shirdon

Yi-chung Shu

Ralph Smith

Pierre Sullivan

Mark Tachi

Dale Van Zante

Lawrence Virgin

Damian Vogt

Qian Wang

Chih-Yung Wen

Pablo Zavattieri