Skip to content
Provided by ASME Logo The American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Student Advisory Committee Travel Award (SACTA)

The SAC is pleased to announce that 40 Student Advisory Committee Travel Awards (SACTA) have been made available for students in 2021, with priority given to students who both participate in the conference and actively contribute to the growth of the SAC. The award will consist of a complimentary technical conference registration to attend the 2021 Virtual Turbo-Expo in June. Applicants for these awards must be seeking a degree. Preference will be given to students who have previously worked and/or have applied to work as student liaison for Turbo-Expo 2021. The applicant must agree to participate in the SAC Annual Meeting and be willing to help the SAC leadership team review student posters. Communication with the SAC leadership team may be requested prior to, during, and following Turbo Expo.

SACTA Submissions are closed.  2022 submissions will be accepted in July.  

Congratulations to the ASME 2021 Turbo Expo SACTA Winners!

FName LName University
Hessein Ali University of Central Florida
Lakshya Bhatnagar Purdue University
Simone Braccio Université Savoie Mont Blanc
Tania Sofia  Cacao Ferreira von Karman Institute/Universite Catholique de Louvain
Jaime Aaron Cano University of Texas at El Paso
Daniel Castillo Imperial College London
Louis Edward Christensen The Ohio State University
Eric T DeShong Pennsylvania State University
Dimitra Eirini Diamantidou Mälardalen University (MDH)
Hossein Ebrahimi University of Central Florida
Ryan Douglas Edelson Pennsylvania State University
Alfredo Fantetti Imperial College London
Benjamin Francolini McGill University
Emmanuel Gabriel-Ohanu University of Central Florida
VIPUL GOYAL University of Central Florida
Shreyas Hegde Duke University
Richard Lee Hollenbach, III Duke University
Kristyn Blake Johnson West Virginia University
Mohammed Ibrahim Kittur University of Malaya
Brian Frederick Knisely Pennsylvania State University
Amit Kumar Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai
Austin Carl Matthews Georgia Institute of Technology
Andrea Notaristefano Politecnico di Milano
Papa Aye Nyansafo Aye-Addo Purdue University
Antonio Escamilla Perejón University of Seville
Hien Minh Phan Univeristy of Oxford
CP Premchand Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Avinash Ambadas Renuke University of Genova, Italy
Alessandro Romei Politecnico di Milano
Alexander J Rusted The Pennsylvania State University
Izzet, Sahin Texas A&M University
Jainam  Shah Ahmedabad University
Ajey Singh IIT Kharagpur
Spencer Jordan Sperling The Ohio State University
Mohammed Aqeel Talikoti Vesvesvaraya Technological University
Vamsi Krishna Undavalli Moscow Aviation Institute (National Research Univeristy)
Aravind Chandh Velayuthapattnam Shanmugam Georgia Institute of Technology
Peter Ove Warren University of Central Florida
Peter Hansen Wilkins Pennsylvania State University


ASME IGTI Young Engineer Turbo Expo Participation Award

The ASME IGTI Young Engineer Turbo Expo Participation Award (YETEP) is intended for young engineers working in industry, in government or in academia, engineering undergraduate or graduate students in the gas turbine or related fields to obtain travel funding to attend ASME Turbo Expo to present a paper or poster which they have authored or co-authored. The purpose is to provide a way for more to participate in the annual Turbo Expo Conference.

For 2021, ASME will provide YETEP Award winners with:

  • One Complimentary ASME Turbo Expo Virtual Technical Conference Registration

The nominee must have obtained an academic degree (Bachelor, Master, PhD, or equivalent degrees) in an engineering discipline related to turbomachinery within five years from the year of the Turbo Expo that the applicant wishes to attend. The paper or poster being presented can be research results from work completed either while pursuing an academic degree, or after leaving school and entering the job field.

YETEP Submissions are closed.  2022 Submissions will be accepted in July.  

Congratulations to the ASME 2021 Young Engineer Turbo Expo Participant Award (YETEP) Winners!


Name  Affiliation
Amrita Basak Pennsylvania State University
Eva van Beurden Cooll Sustainable Energy Solutions B.V
Xiao He Imperial College
Richard Hollenbach Duke University
Nikola Kafedzhiyski Siemens Energy AB
Amit Kumar Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Marcel Otto  University of Central Floria
Ajey Singh Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Alberto Vannoni University of Genoa
Peter Warren University of Central Floria
Tingcheng Wu Texas A&M University