Skip to content
MEEd 2024 > Program > Pre-Conference


Monday, March 18, 2024

8:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibitors Open
8:00 AM – 9:00 AM Morning Break w/continental breakfast
9:00 AM – 12:00 PM

New Department Heads Workshop
In this dynamic workshop, we will explore the primary challenges and opportunities encountered by emerging leaders in mechanical engineering education. Led by seasoned experts and accomplished former department heads, this session aims to equip you with the knowledge, skills, and strategies necessary to thrive in your new role.

Learn more about this workshop

Christine Hailey, Ph.D., Professor, Ingram School of Engineering, Texas State University
Joseph J. Rencis, Ph.D., P.E., Interim Department Head of Mechanical Engineering, The University of Texas at Dallas

Karim H. Muci-Kuchler and Orlando Ayala

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM Lunch
1:00 PM – 6:00 PM ABET Workshop

Whether you're a newcomer to ABET, preparing for an upcoming visit, or simply eager to stay informed, this workshop on ABET accreditation is for you. We'll cover the latest changes to accreditation criteria, making sure you're up-to-date on the current standards. Additionally, we will explore the common pitfalls that lead to shortcomings, giving you the knowledge to successfully navigate the accreditation process. The workshop will be facilitated by ABET staff and seasoned program evaluators. It will feature interactive exercises and plenty of time for your questions. Join us for an enriching experience that goes beyond the basics, preparing you to excel in the dynamic landscape of ABET accreditation.

Learn more about this workshop

• Jane Emmet, Senior Director, Accreditation Operations, ABET
Stephanie Harrington, Director of Constituent Relations, ABET
Joshua D. Summers, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Texas at Dallas
• William Wepfer, Ph.D., Consultant, Advisor and Mentor, Retired from Georgia Tech

3:00 PM – 3:30 PM Networking Break
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM Accelerating Engineering Pathways Work-session (For Grantees Only)


6:00 PM – 7:00 PM Welcome Reception


9:00 AM – 12:00 PM ASME Scholarship Committee
1:00 PM – 2:30 PM ASME ME Department Heads Executive Committee (MEDHEC)
1:00 PM – 2:30 PM ASME Committee on Engineering Technology Accreditation (CETA)
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM Networking Break
2:30 PM – 4:30 PM Committee on Engineering Education (CEE)
6:00 PM – 7:00 PM Welcome Reception