Skip to content
Provided by ASME Logo The American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Annual Awards Dinner

2019 ASME Annual Awards Dinner: Celebrating Engineering Achievement          

Calvin L. Rampton Salt Palace Convention Center, Salt Lake City, Utah

Monday, November 11, 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm, Pre-Dinner Reception at 6:00 pm


Tickets are available at $55.00 and $20.00/Students and must be purchased in advance when you register on the IMECE registration site. 


ASME presents the 2019 Annual Awards Dinner (formerly known as the Honors Assembly), an event of celebration to pay tribute to the careers of outstanding engineering leaders, along with other special award recognitions, dinner and entertainment.

This year, ASME will introduce the People’s Choice Poster Awards – to recognize the top two presenters from the Undergraduate Student Expo, NSF and Virtual Podium poster presentations.


Special guest Master of Ceremonies will be Mo Rocca, CBS News correspondent best known for his off-beat news reports and satirical commentary. He is the host of The Henry Ford’s Innovation Nation and the Cooking Channel’s Emmy nominated show My Grandmother’s Ravioli





Karolina ProtsenkoEnjoy the music of extraordinarily gifted and talented 11-year old violinist Karolina Protsenko.






Live entertainment by America’s Favorite Speed Painter and international performer Dan Dunn PaintJam!


Plus, performances by 2016 America’s Got Talent finalist, Sal “The Voice” Valentinetti






Award Honorees


Reginald I. Vachon, ASME Medal
Established in 1920, the ASME Medal is the highest award that the Society can bestow in recognition of eminently distinguished engineering achievement.

Reginald I. Vachon, Eur. Ing., P.E., Ph.D., chair of Vachon Global in Atlanta, is honored for contributions to the development and commercialization of a disruptive strain measurement technology that optically monitors a scalable strain gauge to measure strain, cold working, crack initiation and structural health. He has been an active member of ASME for 60 years.





Bilal M. Ayyub, Honorary Member
Honorary Membership has come to be regarded as recognition of a lifetime of service to engineering or related fields.

Bilal M. Ayyub, P.E., Ph.D., professor and director of the Center for Technology and Systems Management at the University of Maryland in College Park, is honored for distinguished leadership and contributions in risk analysis for the protection and lifecycle management of infrastructure systems using quantitative methods in engineering mechanics, economics and finance.





Amir Faghri, Honorary Member
Honorary Membership has come to be regarded as recognition of a lifetime of service to engineering or related fields.

Amir Faghri, Ph.D., distinguished professor of engineering and distinguished dean emeritus of engineering at the University of Connecticut in Storrs, is honored for seminal and extensive scientific and engineering contributions in the fields of heat transfer and thermodynamics as an author, educator and inventor; and for academic leadership.





D. Yogi Goswami, Honorary Member
Honorary Membership has come to be regarded as recognition of a lifetime of service to engineering or related fields.

D. Yogi Goswami, P.E., Ph.D., a distinguished university professor at the University of South Florida in Tampa, is honored for distinctive and pioneering contributions in the fields of solar energy and renewable energy sources; for tireless efforts that have advanced the progress of sustainable energy policies worldwide; and for lifelong leadership and service in the engineering profession.





Margaret G. McCullough, Henry Laurence Gantt Medal
The Henry Laurence Gantt Medal is given for distinguished achievement in management and for service to the community.

Margaret G. McCullough, senior vice president and the general manager of nuclear security and operations at Bechtel in Reston, Va., is recognized for directing thousands of engineers and scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Repository and Hanford Waste Treatment Plant, first-of-their-kind projects that have had far-reaching positive environmental outcomes for our planet.





Steven Chu, Richard J. Goldstein Energy Lecture Award
In recognition of pioneering contribution(s) to the frontiers of energy leading to a breakthrough(s) in existing technology, leading to new applications or new areas of engineering endeavor, or leading to policy initiatives.

Steven Chu, Ph.D., the William R. Kenan Jr. professor of physics and professor of molecular and cellular physiology at the Stanford University School of Medicine in California, and president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, is honored for visionary stewardship of clean energy technologies, policy and innovation that have had a profound national and global impact. Dr. Chu was the 12th U.S. Secretary of Energy (Jan. 2009-April 2013)





Sandy Karam, Charles T. Main Student Leadership Award – Gold
The award recognizes Student Members whose leadership and service qualities have contributed, for a period of more than one year, to the program and operation of a Student Section of the Society.

Sandy Karam, a recent NDU alumna, is recognized for outstanding service as events manager and president of the ASME Student Section at Notre Dame University–Louaize in Lebanon, and as secretary and student regional chair of ASME’s Middle East and Africa region. A Fulbright scholarship recipient, she spent the spring 2018 semester in the U.S. as an exchange student at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green.





Kevin G. Bowcutt, Spirit of St. Louis Medal
The Spirit of St. Louis Medal is awarded for meritorious service in the advancement of aeronautics and astronautics.

Kevin G. Bowcutt, Ph.D., a principal senior technical fellow and chief scientist of hypersonics at The Boeing Company in Huntington Beach, Calif., is honored for making key contributions to the X-43A hydrogen scramjet engine flight demonstrator that broke the world speed record for airbreathing flight, achieving Mach 10.0; and for pioneering the X-51A demonstration vehicle that achieved Mach 5.1 powered by a hydrocarbon scramjet engine.





Special Recognition


Michael Merker, Melvin R. Green Codes & Standards Medal
For contributions to the development, promulgation, or management of documents, objects, or devices used in ASME programs of technical codification standardization, and conformity assessment.

Michael Merker is recognized for championing ASME Standards and Certification efforts, most notably in the areas of intellectual property rights, standards development and publishing, conformity assessment and operations, over a span of 37 years. Mr. Merker joined the ASME staff in 1981. He held a number of positions of increasing responsibility and was associate executive director of Standards and Certification from 2015 until his retirement in 2018.






Don’t Miss this outstanding IMECE event!

Special Thanks  


The ASME Committee on Honors
Mechanical Engineering magazine