Skip to content
ICEF 2023 > Program > Distinguished Invited Lecture

Distinguished Invited Lecture

David Foster

Tuesday October 10, 2023 | 8:00 – 9:15 AM

David E. Foster, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin - Madison

Presentation Title: Where Do We Go From Here?

David E. Foster is the Phil and Jean Myers Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering of the University of Wisconsin - Madison. He received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering in 1979 from MIT. He was a founding member of the Engine Research Center (ERC) and served as its Director from 1994 through 1999, and from September 2008 through December 2011. He was also the Founding Co-Director of the General Motors – ERC - Collaborative Research Laboratory, from its inception in 2002 until his retirement in 2012. He has served on numerous NRC and National Academy review and assessment committees; he is an SAE Fellow and is the recipient of the Academic Contribution Award from the Japanese Society of Automotive Engineers, the UW College of Engineering Byron Bird Excellence in Research Publication Award, the ASME Honda Gold Medal, the SAE Horning Award, and the SAE John Johnson Award.


Kelly Senecal

Kelly Senecal, Ph.D.
Co-founder, Convergent Science

Dr. Kelly Senecal is a co-founder and owner of Convergent Science. He is a visiting professor at the University of Oxford, an adjunct professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and a co-founder and director of the Computational Chemistry Consortium (C3). Dr. Senecal is a Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He is a member of the executive committee of the ASME Internal Combustion Engine Division, a member of the board of advisors for the Central States Section of the Combustion Institute, and the 2019 recipient of the ASME ICE Award. Dr. Senecal has long been an advocate of creating cleaner propulsion systems, with a particular focus on using CFD and HPC to enable faster design. Starting with his TEDx talk in late 2016, he has promoted a diverse mix of transportation technologies through invited talks, articles, and social media. Dr. Senecal is co-author of the new book Racing Toward Zero: The Untold Story of Driving Green, winner of the 2022 Independent Press Award for Environment.