Skip to content
Provided by ASME Logo The American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Keynote Speakers

Tuesday, October 27, 2020
8:00 AM to 9:00 AM

Suresh Ramalingam

Dr. Suresh Ramalingam

Xilinx Fellow (VP)

Topic: Challenges and Opportunities in Next Generation of Advanced Packaging

Dr. Suresh Ramalingam graduated in 1994 with a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge. He holds 32 US Patents, 2013 SEMI Award, Ross Freeman Award for Technical Innovation, ECTC 2011 Conference Best Paper Award, IMAPS 2013 and 2014 Conference Best Paper Awards for 2.5D/3D and book chapter on 3D Integration in VLSI Circuits.

He started his career at Intel developing Organic Flip Chip Technology for Micro-processors which was implemented on Pentium II (Intel’s first flip chip product) in 1997. As one of the co-founders and Director of Packaging Materials at Scion Photonics he helped develop DWDM modules used by major communication companies. JDS Uniphase acquired Scion Photonics in 2002.

As a Xilinx Fellow, he currently manages Advanced Packaging Interconnect Technology Development including TSV/3D for Xilinx FPGA products. Thermal Enablement and Board/System Level is a key focus area to push the power/performance envelope under the leadership of Dr. Gamal Refai-Ahmed and happy to be a partner in crime supporting the necessary technology pieces.


Wednesday, October 28, 2020
8:00 AM to 9:00 AM

Dr. Bongtae Han

Dr. Bongtae Han

Keystone Professor

Topic: Quantitative Prediction of Warpage after Molding Processes: Is It a Myth?

Bio: Dr. Bongtae Han is Keystone Professor of Engineering, and APT Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department of the University of Maryland. Dr. Han has co-authored a textbook entitled "High Sensitivity Moir├ę: Experimental Analysis for Mechanics and Materials", Springer-Verlag (1997) and edited two books. He has published 12 book chapters and over 300 journal and conference papers in the field of microelectronics, photonics, and experimental mechanics. Dr. Han received the IBM Excellence Award for Outstanding Technical Achievements in 1994. He was a recipient of the 2002 Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM) Brewer Award for his contributions to development of photomechanics tools used in semiconductor packaging. Most recently, he was named the 2016 American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) Mechanics Award winner in Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division for his contributions to structural mechanics of electronic systems. He has received several publication awards, including Year 2004 Best Paper Award of the IEEE Transactions on Components and Packaging Technologies. He served as an Associate Technical Editor for Experimental Mechanics, from 1999 to 2001, and Journal of Electronic Packaging, Transaction of the ASME from 2003 to 2012. He is currently serving as an Associate Editor for Microelectronics Reliability. He was elected a Fellow of the SEM and the ASME in 2006 and 2007, respectively.


Thursday, October 29, 2020
8:00 AM to 9:00 AM

Scott Miller

Dr. Scott Miller

Director of Technology, NextFlex

Topic: Flexible Electronics

Dr. Scott Miller is the Director of Technology at NextFlex, America’s Flexible Hybrid Electronics (FHE) Manufacturing Institute. Scott is responsible for the portfolio of technical projects funded by NextFlex, runs its Technical Council and Technical Working Groups, leads the development of FHE industry road mapping, oversees initiatives within the Institute, and builds and maintains relationships with government and industry partners.

Scott earned his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Princeton University, where he did research on large area electronics manufacturing based on printing processes. Prior to joining NextFlex, Scott led materials R&D groups at GE Global Research supporting a diverse range of businesses. He has worked in areas including printed, flexible, and hybrid electronics; wearable devices; additive manufacturing; and bioprinting and bio fabrication.